SEDMFI BACKGROUND

The Surigao Economic Development and Microfinance Foundation, Inc. (SEDMFI), formerly Surigao Economic Development Foundation, Inc. (SEDFI), is a private, nonprofit, non-stock and non-political service organization established on January 12, 1985 and registered with the Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC) on June 7,1985. It is a duly registered done institution under provisions of BIR-NEDA Regulation No.1-81.

SEDFI was organized by a group of Surigaonons for the rehabilitation and development of Surigao del Norte from the immense devastation of the super Typhoon Nitang in September 9,1984. In May 1985, its maiden project was launched-the distribution of 7,200 packets of free vegetable seeds.

In July 1985, SEDFI pioneered the Social Credit System in the province with the support from the Philippine Business for Social Progress (PBSP) which, later on evolved to what is now the microfinance component of the Micro-entrepreneurs Development Program.

SEDFI was the Host NGO of the Siargao Island Protected Landscape and Seascape (SIPLAS) Project funded by World Bank in 1996 that established Siargao Island and Bucas Grande Islands as a Protected Area.

In January 2017, the foundation's corporate name was changed, from SEDFI to SEDMFI, to conform with the Republic Act 10693 or the Microfinance NGOs Act.

DINAGAT ISLANDS SURIGAO DEL NORTE AGUSAN DEL NORTE SURIGAO DEL SU **AGUSAN DEL SUR** MAP of CARAGA REGION

Our Branches

1. Head Office

00870 M. Ortiz St. Brgy. Washington, Surigao City, Surigao del Norte

2. Placer Branch

Sta Cruz, Placer, Surigao del Note

3. Claver Branch

Purok 4, Barangay Bagakay Claver, Surigao del Norte

4. Siargao Branch

Barangay. 5, Dapa Surigao del Norte

5. San Jose Branch

San Jose, Province of Dinagat Island

5A. Loreto Satellite Office

Barangay Carmen, Loreto, Province of Dinagat Island

6. Cabadbaran Branch

F.C Dagani Avenue Brgy. 11, Cabadbaran City

7. Madrid Branch

Eduhome Building, Quirino Madrid, Surigao del Sur

8. Tandag Branch

P-Mabuhay, Bongtud Tandag City, Surigao del Sur

9. San Francisco Branch

P-7 Barangay 2 San Francisco, Agusan del Sur

10. Trento Branch

Poblacion Trento Agusan del Sur

11. Bayugan Branch

P-15, Molave St.

Barangay Poblacion

Bayugan City, Agusan del Sur

12. Buenavista Branch

Leon Kilat Street Brgy. 3, Buenavista Agusan del Norte